Rivermen Headlines

Oklahoma Added to West Division - AHL Reaches 30 Teams
Published: June 16th 2010 @ 12:00 AM


American Hockey League President and CEO David Andrewsannounced that the league will operate with an all-time high of 30 active teams in 2010-11, which will also mark the AHL’s historic 75thseason.


All 30 National Hockey League teams will have their own primary affiliate playing in the AHL next fall. The league’s Board of Governors has approved the following conference and division alignment for 2010-11 (NHL affiliates in parentheses):

Eastern Conference

Atlantic Division

Bridgeport Sound Tigers (NYI)

Hartford Wolf Pack (NYR)

Manchester Monarchs (LA)

Portland Pirates (BUF)

Providence Bruins (BOS)

Springfield Falcons (CBJ)

Worcester Sharks (SJ)

East Division
Adirondack Phantoms (PHI)
Albany Devils (NJ)
Binghamton Senators (OTT)
Charlotte Checkers (CAR)
Hershey Bears (WSH)
Norfolk Admirals (TB)
Syracuse Crunch (ANA)

Wilkes-Barre/Scranton Penguins (PIT)

Western Conference

North Division

Abbotsford Heat (CGY)

Grand Rapids Griffins (DET)

Hamilton Bulldogs (MTL)

Lake Erie Monsters (COL)

Manitoba Moose (VAN)

Rochester Americans (FLA)

Toronto Marlies (TOR)

West Division
Chicago Wolves (ATL)
Houston Aeros (MIN)
Milwaukee Admirals (NSH)
Oklahoma City Barons (EDM)
Peoria Rivermen (STL)
Rockford IceHogs (CHI)
San Antonio Rampage (PHX)
Texas Stars (DAL)

The 2010-11 regular season will begin on Oct. 8. The complete schedule will be announced later this summer.


In operation since 1936, the AHL continues to serve as the top development league for all 30 National Hockey League teams. More than 85 percent of today’s NHL players are American Hockey League graduates, and for the ninth year in a row, more than 6 million fans attended AHL games across North America in 2009-10.