Rivermen Headlines

Dave Spina Named Rivermen 2010-11 IOA/American Specialty AHL Man of the Year
Published: March 28th 2011 @ 12:00 AM



The Peoria Rivermen are proud to announce that Dave Spina has been named the team’s winner of the IOA/American Specialty AHL Man of the Year award for his outstanding contributions to the Peoria community during the 2010-11 season.

Spina, in his first year with the club, was involved with the Rivermen community outreach from the very start of this season.  He spearheaded the team’s Junior Achievement program and spent five weeks teaching first grade at Hines Elementary.  At various events with fans this season, Spina was often the first player through the door and the last one to leave.  At this year’s Children’s Hospital telethon, he called his friends and family to raise money for the cause and even donated his own money to the hospital. 


A well-spoken individual, Spina became the face of the Rivermen community efforts with the media throughout the season  His hard work and dedication on and off the ice make him a great embassador for the gamefor the Rivermen, the AHL and the game of hockey. 

Spina is now one of 30 finalists for the AHL’s 2010-11 Yanick Dupre Memorial Award, honoring the overall IOA/American Specialty AHL Man of the Year. The league award is named after the former Hershey Bears forward and AHL All-Star who died in 1997 following a 16-month battle with leukemia. The winner of the Yanick Dupre Memorial Award will be announced by the American Hockey League in the coming weeks.