Rivermen Headlines

Kyle Hagel Named Rivermen IOA/American Specialty AHL Man of the Year
Published: April 3rd 2012 @ 9:16 AM



The Peoria Rivermen are proud to announce that Kyle Hagel has been named the team’s winner of the IOA/American Specialty AHL Man of the Year award for his outstanding contributions to the Peoria community during the 2011-12 season.

Despite suffering a season-ending shoulder injury in early November, Hagel has been the greatest presence in the Peoria community for the Rivermen.  He has attended numerous schools to speak to students about the importance of good character and often made trips to the Children’s Hospital of Illinois to visit with patients.  Always available for community appearances, Hagel has been a tremendous ambassador for the Rivermen.


In his first season with the Rivermen, Hagel brought his Stick to Reading initiative to the sixth graders at Woodrow Wilson School.  Through his work with Hockey Players for Kids (HP4K), a non-profit organization that he helped found in 2007-08 while with the Bakersfield Condors, Hagel was able to secure a $1,000 gift in books for the school. He rewarded his participants in the reading program by bringing teammates to the school for a floor-hockey game and two grand prize winners got to come in the locker room after a game and meet the team.   


Last season, Hagel was the Rockford IceHogs’ recipient of the IOA/American Specialty Man of the Year award.

Hagel is now one of 30 finalists for the AHL’s 2011-12 Yanick Dupre Memorial Award, honoring the overall IOA/American Specialty AHL Man of the Year. The league award is named after the former Hershey Bears forward and AHL All-Star who died in 1997 following a 16-month battle with leukemia. The winner of the Yanick Dupre Memorial Award will be announced by the American Hockey League in the coming weeks.